Monroe takes public safety seriously! The Monroe Township
Police Department has added two new emergency response vehicles to its fleet,
one for traffic control and the other for emergency medical services. One of
the current EMS vehicles has answered about 1,200 calls per year and an
astonishing 208,000 miles in response to emergencies throughout Monroe. As a
proud resident of Monroe, Certified Civil Trial Attorney, Gregg A. Williams, is
impressed with the enhanced safety measures performed by his hometown.
Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed legislation requiring ride-sharing services
to show additional identification after the March 2019 brutal murder of a
University of South Carolina student police say got into the car of an Uber
Law,” which will take effect in March 2020, will mandate that rideshare drivers
to comply with the following regulations:
- Display two identifying marks on the front windshield
and the rear window of their vehicles;
- Rideshare companies will be required to create two
copies of a unique barcode passengers can scan with their smart phones to
confirm their driver’s identity;
- Rideshare companies must issue two credential placards
for drivers to place on the passenger and driver side rear windows. The
placards will contain a driver’s name, photo, and their license plate
Per New Jersey’s version of the law,
rideshare drivers who fail to comply with requirements will be subject to a
$250 fine. Any rideshare company that does not implement mandatory measures may
also have their operating permits suspended or revoked.
If you have any question regarding
your rights as a passenger in a ride sharing car service, it is best to contact
our personal injury lawyers today!
recently obtained a settlement at mediation for a client who was injured on his
way to work when his vehicle was struck by a tractor trailer. Our client had
severe preexisting degeneration in both his neck and back before the accident.
The accident aggravated our clients degenerative arthritis causing increased
neck and back pain and requiring him to undergo laser spine surgery. The
truck’s insurance company alleged that our client would have received the
surgery regardless of the accident.
With Labor Day
Weekend fast approaching everyone is excited about end of summer barbeques,
picnics, and spending the long holiday weekend down the shore. Whether on the
beach, or having lunch at your favorite outdoor restaurant, umbrellas are
everywhere you look. While seemingly harmless, umbrellas are often left
unsecured, unlocked, or otherwise erected in an unsafe manner. When this occurs
the umbrella is susceptible to becoming airborne when hit with a gust of wind.
Data from the US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) indicates that more
than 31,000 people were treated in hospitals for umbrella injuries between
2008-2018. US Senator Robert Mendez from New Jersey has asked for regulations
to make umbrellas safer such as requiring them to have printed warning labels.
Our firm has handled numerous cases where a victim was struck by an unsecured
umbrella. If this happens to you call our Attorneys at 732-514-6635.
- File a Claim against the Driver’s Insurance
If the driver who was driving the vehicle that you were a
passenger in were at least in part at fault for causing the motor vehicle
accident, you have the legal right to file the claim against the driver’s
insurance policy. This allows the passenger to receive financial compensation
for the injuries that he or she incurred in the accident.
- Filing a Claim against the Other Driver’s Insurance
If the other driver is at fault, you
can pursue a claim against the other driver’s insurance coverage. If that other driver is partially at fault
then you can pursue a claim against both his insurance and the insurance
carrier of the vehicle in which you occupied.
- Through your own
insurance for uninsured or uninsured motorist coverage
the at fault driver or drivers are uninsured or underinsured to compensate you
for your injuries, then you have the right to file a claim against your own
insurance company. If this is for
underinsured motorist coverage, then this claim would be in addition to claims
brought against one or both at fault drivers.
For a more detailed discussion of your underinsured and underinsured
motorist coverage see our blog dedicated to this topic. As well as contact us at 732-514-6635.
- Contact a Certified
Civil Trial Attorney Today!
you were injured as a passenger in a automobile accident, contact us for a
consultation to find out which legal options may be available to you after your
accident. We will review your claim during a free, no obligation consultation
to help you find out if may be entitled to compensation from the at-fault
How to Best Protect your Legal Rights If you suffer a
File an Accident Report
It is best to report
any accident in which you’re involved
on the job, whether or not you believe you’re injured. Filing an incident
report immediately protects you if you don’t experience symptoms until weeks or
even months after the accident.
Consult a Doctor
It is best to see a doctor as soon as possible following an
accident at work. Immediately after the accident, you should ask your employer for
medical treatment or to go to the emergency room. You should also ask your
employer if they require you to see a certain doctor or if you can choose which
doctor to go to.
Report Injuries as Soon as Possible
It is up to your employer to file
a workers’ compensation claim
with their insurance company on your behalf. They won’t know to do this until
you let them know you are injured.
If you reported the accident, but didn’t know you were
injured at the time, let your employer know as soon as you discover your
injury. Follow up to make sure that a workers’ compensation claim is filed. You
are entitled to a copy of the workers’ compensation claim filed by your
Consult a Workers’ Compensation Attorney
Prior to filing a claim, it’s best to consult
with an attorney who has experience handling
workers’ compensation claims. An initial consultation is free and can help you
determine what benefits you might be entitled to receive. If you are injured at work call the Law
Offices of Gregg Williams to speak to one of our workers compensation attorneys
“How to Choose an Attorney Best for You”
- Certified: Less than 2% of all attorneys in New Jersey are Certified Civil Trial Attorneys-Gregg A. Williams is one of those who has this prestigious distinction. A certified attorney is best to represent you in a personal injury case as they are the most experienced trial attorneys and are required to pass a rigorous certification vetting process including additional board exams.
- Specialty: It is best to choose an attorney who focuses his or her practice on one specific area of law, not a myriad of areas—with expansive knowledge in that one area of law and that will best serve your needs as a client. The Law Offices of Gregg A. Williams focuses ONLY on personal injury accident cases.
- Proximity to you: It is always better to retain an attorney close to your home and in a central location in New Jersey. The Law Offices of Gregg A. Williams is located right in the heart of East Brunswick, right off the Exit 9 New Jersey Turnpike. It is best to have an attorney who is close to your location.
- Experience: The best attorneys are the experienced ones. The Law Offices of Gregg Williams has over 20 years of experience practicing personal injury law. It is in your best interests as a client to choose an attorney who not only has experience in law, but in a specific area of law.
- Home Team: It is best to have an attorney who practices often in the court and county where your case will be venued. Our trial attorneys have tried cases in nearly every county in the State most frequently Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Union County, Essex County and Somerset County.
According to the National Highway
Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA), more than
70,000 pedestrians are injured in motor
vehicle accidents each year while approximately 5,000 are killed. Children
between the ages of five and nine are most likely to be struck by a vehicle.
Not only are children small and difficult to see, but they also act
unpredictably and erratically. Many pedestrian accidents are preventable, and
often occur when a pedestrian is attempting to cross an intersection and a
driver is not paying attention. Poorly maintained roadways or construction and
debris that is blocking the pedestrian’s path can lead to an accident. Pedestrian
accidents account for two percent of those injured or killed in traffic
accidents annually. Pedestrian accidents are among the
deadliest kinds of vehicle accidents nationwide. Even a car traveling at a low
speed can cause disabling injuries, including spine and brain injuries, to a
NJ law protects pedestrians’ rights by requiring that
drivers yield to pedestrians at crosswalks and intersections, and remain
stopped until a pedestrian has finished crossing. Usually,
in the event of an accident, a pedestrian’s primary legal claim will be against
a negligent driver. Whenever a pedestrian is hit by a car while crossing in a
marked or unmarked crosswalk (at any corner), the driver of the car is usually
considered to be at fault. This is because drivers have a legal obligation to
keep a proper lookout and avoid hazards in the road, and a pedestrian in these
circumstances would generally fall under this rule. When children are around, drivers must be
even more cautious. When driving past a school, park, or residential area,
drivers may be legally required to exercise an even greater degree of care than
they would otherwise.
If you or a loved one have been affected by an
accident, call our accident specialist attorneys at 732-514-6635.
Wrongful death claims are distinct from personal injury lawsuits
because personal injury suits are brought by the victim. But in the case of a
wrongful death, the victim is unable to receive his or her just compensation.
A wrongful death lawsuit is technically brought by the decedent’s
estate or heirs—namely his or her spouse and children who received benefit from
the deceased during his or her life.
In order to bring a wrongful death claim, the decedent’s family members must prove that they have suffered (and will continue to suffer) financial losses as a result of the death. Damages in a wrongful death suit are based on monetary contributions the decedent was reasonably expected to make to survivors, rather than the survivors’ unique needs.
A survival action allows a decedent’s estate to make a claim for
the decedent’s injuries before he or she died. Unlike a wrongful death suit, a
survival action deals with the pain and suffering of the deceased, rather than
the pain and suffering of the surviving family members. A survival action
allows for compensation for pain and suffering in the time span between injury
For example, take a construction worker who was gravely injured in
a structural collapse. He suffered many physical injuries, emotional pain,
decreased quality of life, and lost out on several weeks of wages. He planned
to file a personal injury suit against his employer, but he died of medical
complications before being able to. A survival action allows the decedent’s
estate to collect damages for the construction worker’s pain and suffering,
lost wages, etc.
One key difference between a survival action and a wrongful death
claim is that, in survival actions, the damages recovered go the decedent’s
estate, not directly to the family members; the damages are then distributed
according to the decedent’s will (or according to state law, if there is no
Getting hurt in a slip and fall isn’t something that is ever planned. When the unexpected happens, you may be scared and confused. Here’s what’s best to do after a slip and fall accident.
1. It’s Best to Seek Medical Attention
Not only is
medical attention critical for your safety, but it’s also the first step in
building your case. When you’re hurt in a slip and fall, the best initial step
is to have your injuries documented.
Visiting a doctor immediately after your slip and fall is the best thing you
can do to create an expert record of your injuries. Seeking medical attention
quickly after a slip and fall also proves the timing of your injuries. It’s
common for the insurance companies to try to dismiss your injuries by claiming
that you must have gotten injured on another occasion. Going to the doctor
right away is the best way to prevent the other side from having any chance to
say that you got injured another way. Also, the full extent of your injuries
may not be immediately apparent to you after a slip and fall. If you have head
trauma, you may not be aware of it. There are a variety of injuries that might
be hidden to you in the aftermath of a fall. A medical expert knows what to
look for to ensure all your injured are identified. Not only is a full accounting of your injuries
critical for your recovery, but it’s also critical to building a complete case
to maximize your recovery.
2. Inspect the Scene
What caused you to
fall? Did a store have a display where someone could easily trip on it? Was
there water on the floor? Did the store let too many people in to shop at once
for a special event? The best time to try and pin down the cause of your
slip and fall is immediately after it occurs. Look around you. If you can
pinpoint the cause of your fall, you can work backward to determine what the
store owners and employees might have done differently to prevent you from
3. Take Photographs
While the jury can
listen to what witnesses have to say and visualize the scene, it’s more
powerful if the jury can look at photos. Even if you’re not sure what you’re
taking a picture of, it is best to take photos of the scene. It is best to take
photos of the floor, the area around you, and even the area that surrounds the
scene. Your attorney can help you determine what’s most important later. Photos
can be critical to show the jury that your version of events is accurate.
4. Identify Witnesses
critical to verify your version of events. If your slip and fall happens at a
business, other customers might be your best witnesses. It’s important to get
their contact information so that you can call them to testify on your behalf.
Approach witnesses and ask for their name, phone number, address, and email
address. You can even ask for a brief explanation of what they saw. When you
work with an attorney, they will follow up with witnesses quickly. They’ll ask
them for a detailed statement in writing. If there aren’t third-party
witnesses, you may still have a strong claim for recovery. However, having
witnesses in your corner is the best way to prevent the defense from trying to
deny your version of events
5. Make Official Reports
business might want you to make an accident report for their records. The best
thing for you to do is to go ahead and make the statement. Make sure you
include all vital information. Making an official report can be critical for
the timing of your claim. Having the complaint on file is often the best way to
stop the other side from claiming that you didn’t take your accident seriously
when it happened or that it didn’t happen at all.